Week 4

The articles this week were about parent involvement in the classroom and in their children’s education. As a teacher, deficit thinking can be about almost anything that relates to a student, including the home life and parents. However, Finders and Lewis decided to go to those “other parents” that are often the target for such deficit thinking like “I just don’t understand why those other parents won’t even show up” and ask give them a voice (Finders & Lewis, 1994). They found out that these parents have suggestions that will help educators understand exactly ‘Why Some Parents Don’t Come to School’. One of which I hadn’t thought of before, that being their previous experience with school. This idea has expanded my initial reasoning for wanting to include parents and reach out to them right away. School has such a large impact in our daily lives, and one bad experience can cause an undesired outcome for a person’s future. I’ve always believed that including parents in their child’s education is important, and the suggestions that both articles gave are necessary to create a friendly, comfortable environment for both the student and the parent. Creating a partnership between the parents of your students mean s that you are building on home experiences, developing trusting teacher parent relationship, and getting to know the funds of knowledge available in your classroom. All of these things, become the path in creating that partnership (Allen, 2008) (Finders & Lewis, 1994).

The first two weeks I attended the Boys and Girls club, I didn’t really have a focus in my information gathering. It was random and sparse notes written here and there when having conversation with students. These last two weeks, I was able to gain a perspective and understand what information I was gathering and how this information would draw significance in my differentiation. I began learning about the students home lives, cultural background, and their funds of knowledge. I think that as a teacher, it’s easy to forget, through the bustle and stress of the school year, about the seriousness this information holds. One of the students I observed this week made the comment, “nobody has to be poor, you can choose not to be.” I think that this definitely plays into a students funds of knowledge and even the influence they have at home. I found it interesting that the student made the comment when the club that he was attending was designed for students’ who’s family needed financial aid. I’ve also been seeing a large population of the students’ parents being divorced. As a teacher, it’s just as important to communicate and have that partnership between both parents when families are split. There can’t just be a trusting relationship built with one parent. I can imagine that it may become difficult when trying to build this trusting partnership between the two parents when there isn’t a civil bond for the sake of their child. Even though this may occur, it’s important to remember not to fall back into that “other parent” deficit thinking. There is almost always a reason for a parent’s absence in their child’s education (Finders & Lewis, 1994).

Being at an after school program, parents or guardians are normally coming from work or prior obligations. There is a large population of students going to the Boys and Girls club of Tampa, and an even bigger one when combined with other after school programs such as the YMCA. Seeing how many children actually do attend tells me that flexibility as those children’s teacher is necessary. These parents are unable to pick up their children at 2:00, thus a parent will also be unable to attend a meeting of some sort right after school as well. Thinking that they don’t care about their child’s education isn’t the right move, reaching out to the parent to understand and create a bond is the right move.

New Doc 20

One of the seed activities that I did this week was the color poems. I noticed that some of my peers did this seed activity as well, and their student work differed than mine. My student decided to take the paper and write the adjectives that described the color around the paper in different ways. It makes me think that he would like to create a poem using the shape poetry method.

Allen, J. (2008, September). Family partnerships that count. Educational Leadership, 22-27. Retrieved June 8, 2016.

Finders, M., & Lewis, C. (1994, May). Why some parents don’t come to school. Educational Leadership, 50-54. Retrieved June 8, 2016.