*Discuss student learning. What did students learn? Provide evidence for this learning (discuss student work, observation data, video, etc.). How do you know that students learned?

In order to prepare for this lesson, I observed my teacher facilitate her guided reading small groups during the Daily 5 center time so that I would be familiar with the routines and strategies she uses. While I was observing her, I noticed that the students genuinely enjoy the guided reading time so I wanted to keep the structure of it similar to hers. Additionally, this would be my first time teaching a small guided reading group so I wanted to make sure that the strategies that I used would be beneficial for the students. My CT wanted to expose me to teaching the enrichment group first so that I could become familiar with the strategies. The structure that my CT uses for her guided reading is to read an on level text, then write a sentence–in this enrichment group their focusing on beginning, middle, and end–and if there is time remaining they play and educational game according to their reading level.

The goal of learning that I was wanting my students in the small group to achieve is to have the ability to comprehend the text to summarize the beginning, middle and end of it. I was able to see this learning through the use of white boards that they wrote their sentences on. The structure of the guided reading groups have the students do a picture walk and first read through on the first day they are given a book. After the initial read through the students come up with a one word summary of each the beginning, middle, and end and they must write their sentence on their boards in the designated section that they labeled as either beginning (B), middle (M), or end (E). I know that the students learned by examining their sentences at the end and analyzing the answers they game throughout the story. Both of these allowed me to understand their comprehension level of the content within the book.

*Select several questions from the USF lesson plan reflection sheet based on content.

What aspects of your lesson were implemented differently than you planned? Why did that happen?
When I was having the students complete the beginning, middle, and end summaries, some of the students wrote their sentence much faster than what I expected. I am used to working with my students that need extra support, so I now know where my enrichment children are at in their capability to write sentences. Additionally, another thing that went differently than what I planned was how the students were going to react to the game. I thought that the students were going to be ecstatic throughout the entire game of sight word bingo. Although they were excited in the beginning and middle of the game, it was when one of the students won, I noticed that one of the students got upset about it. This is a whole other lesson that I have to instill in my students, to be okay with failure. There is nothing wrong with loosing, and having the ability to loose gracefully is a much better quality to have than being able to win gracefully. 

If you were going to teach this lesson to the same group of students, what would you do
 differently? Why? What would you do the same?  Why?
Since my CT wants me to take over the enrichment guided reading small group, I will be teaching a similar lesson to the same group of students soon. I think that I will make it even more challenging with the assessment that I give them. I might try to take the scaffolding graphic organizer of beginning, middle, and end out so they have to write a paragraph summary. I might even give them a different task such as compare and contrast characters because that is a standard that they must show mastery of by the end of the year. I really like how my CT has the game at the end because it brings a fun and positive experience to correlate with small group instruction so they don’t find it to be a tedious task. I will still use the game at the end of the lesson to continue this fun aspect of the lesson and a good academic way to spend extra time. I want the students to associate small group reading instruction with a positive phenomenon.

What connections can you make to your lesson today from your coursework, the
literature, and  any previous lessons or experiences?
I think that since this lesson was purely a differentiated lesson for my enrichment students, I could really see the connection to my planning course that focused on differentiation and how to do it effectively. There are three different things that you can focus on to differentiate for: readiness level, learning profile, and interest. You can also differentiate the material in the lesson such as: the product, content, process, and the learning environment (Tomlinson, 2001). In this lesson I differentiated the readiness level and the content specifically. I did small differentiations with the other categories, but I think you can clearly see the differentiation of the readiness level and the content in my lesson. The students were in need of enrichment (readiness level) so I was able to expand their knowledge than what is normally given to them in reading instruction for whole group. I was able to give them more critical thinking questions that required them to think in a higher manner to answer the questions of why something might be happening. Additionally, the other students in my class aren’t exactly ready to write summary sentences like these students do on their own. I differentiated their instruction in this by allowing them to come up with summaries without my assistance. You can see that I differentiated the content of their instruction by providing a book that is appropriate for their reading level. In order for them to be fully challenged during small group, they needed a text that isn’t too easy for them. I am there to push them so that they may reach their fullest potential in their comprehension and fluency of reading. The book that I chose gave them that challenge that they need.
Another connection that I was able to make in my lesson was to my Emergent Literacy class. In this class we learned about the Daily 5 and the structure of it. During this routine, the students rotate in centers while the teacher works in small groups. My CT has this learning structure taking place when she does small group. It allows the students to be self sufficient and engaging in quality learning rather than just doing busy work while the teacher works with the small group. I also was able to use what I learned about where students’ knowledge in the emergent reading level is at to support and push my students to the next level of the reading stage. These students that I worked with are beyond emergent readers whereas most of the other students are still in the ending stage of this level. Since these students are in the early readers stage, I was able to use what I learned about this stage to support my understanding of what I needed to work on with these students. In this stage the students are able to predict words on their own by using strategies such as sounding out. Emergent readers still need the assistance of a teacher to predict words. So when there would be a word that this enrichment group didn’t know I would challenge them by having them go letter by letter and sound out the word. This would allow them to use the strategy of blending the word themselves (Bear, Invernizzi, Templeton, & Johnston, 2008).

Identify an individual or group of students who did especially well in this lesson today.How do you account for this performance?
The student that I took a picture of for an example of student work is the student that did especially well in this lesson. While we were doing the picture walk he wouldn’t just look at the pictures and say what he saw, he made connections to the character’s feelings and how he had played hide and seek before too. During the first read, he was able to keep the pace of reading aloud for the other student that was needing a good pace. While reading, he would pause to sound out words that he wasn’t familiar with; even if he miss pronounced the word, after I corrected him, he didn’t just skip it, he would repeat it the word. After reading, he made the first summary sentence for the beginning section of the book. He set a great example of what a summary should look and sound like. He didn’t describe one instance that happened in the story, he gave an overview of what happened in the beginning of the story. I chose his writing sample, because he had great spelling of sight words and even words that aren’t sight words. You can clearly see that he pulled the words apart to hear the sounds of letters in the word before writing it. For example, in the word “friends”, he wrote “frens” which when said out loud sounds just like the word “friends”. Although he does have some things to work on such as capitalization for the beginning of a new sentence, I think over all he did great with the lesson!

In considering the needs of all ELL students in your class, what have you done to
ensure that your  ELL students are learning the material and keeping up with the rest of the class?
Even though in this small group there weren’t any ELL students, I still used a strategy that is great for ELL students. Having the students first do a picture walk prior to reading the text allows them to become familiar with what content is in the book and they have a general idea of the plot of the book. This strategy supports their reading instruction because if they are unfamiliar with a word they might be able to deduce what the word is through sounding it out and from the clues of the pictures. I think that having and ELL student in kindergarten is a great time for them because there is so much foundational learning still happening for the English language. Many of the students are still having to support their knowledge and learning through images and visuals, in which ELL students need much of as well.

*What did you learn from engaging in this lesson?

After teaching this lesson, I learned how to facilitate a guided reading small group. I never really knew what teachers actually do during this time so I think that having the opportunity to teach this was beneficial for my growth as a teacher. I have always been given the task of teaching whole group throughout my entire internship experience, whereas many of my peers started off with small groups. I think that this actually helps me understand how to differentiate for each of the levels that exist within my class. It illustrates what the students are struggling with and what their strength may be. This information from the small group can be directly incorporated into your whole group instruction differentiation. Even though in whole group instruction you are teaching the entire class, it’s still important to differentiate for the different leveled learners in the class. Thus, understanding each of the students’ reading and comprehension ability will aid your chances of supporting all your students so that they may reach their fullest academic potential.

Another thing I noticed while watching my video of teaching the lesson was that some of the students within my enrichment group are at different levels as well. There were two students that were able to read by themselves without my assistance of non-sight words. I saw that they finished the book and was just waiting on me to finish with the other two students. I would like to reflect upon this and think of ways that I could enrich those students even more so that their time isn’t being wasted.

*What are some of your goals based on what you learned from this lesson?

After doing this lesson, I would like to continue my experience gaining in small group instruction. I would like to expand upon my teachers normal routine of guided reading for my enrichment group and use a variety of strategies with them. Since they are the group that needs to be pushed farther because of their abilities, I think that trying other strategies may be beneficial to them because they are able to be exposed to other ways of instruction. The more outlets that they are able to express their knowledge through, the better the comprehension of that content will be. Additionally, another goal that I have after teaching this lesson is to integrate what I learn about my learners in the class into my whole group instruction. I want to implement strategies and tools that will support all of my students strengths and struggles during whole group teaching because I think that is just as important. The majority of the day the students are being taught in whole group instruction so if their needs aren’t truly being met during this time then their level of learning may be faltered.

References

Tomlinson, C. A. (2001). How to differentiate instruction in mixed-ability classrooms (2nd ed.). Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.

Bear, D., Invernizzi, M., Templeton, S., & Johnston, F. (2008). Developmental word knowledge. In Words their way: Word study for phonics, vocabulary, and spelling instruction (4th ed., p. 20). Upper Saddle River, New Jersey: Pearson Education.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.